U bent hier: Home / Onderzoek / Doctoraat in de architectuur

Doctoraat in de architectuur

Het Doctoraat in de Architectuur is ontstaan vanuit het Doctoraat in de Kunsten van de Faculteit Architectuur en Kunsten (LUCA School of Arts) en valt onder de bevoegdheid van de Faculteit Architectuur van de KU Leuven. Het heeft een plaats binnen de Arenberg Doctoraatsschool van de Groep Wetenschap & Technologie van de KU Leuven en streeft tevens naar een doorgedreven samenwerking met LUCA – Faculteit Kunsten.

The Doctorate in Architecture (PhD) falls under the authority of the Faculty of Architecture, KU Leuven, and is situated within the Arenberg Doctoral School of the Science, Engineering and Technology Group. The Faculty of Architecture aims at an important collaboration with LUCA – Faculty of Arts. All candidates for the Doctorate in Architecture have to follow the General Regulations–Arenberg Doctoral School, Science, Engineering and Technology Group, KU Leuven. The doctoral formation in Architecture follows this regulations and expects from the candidates for the Doctorate in Architecture to follow the Research Training Sessions (RTS) as part of their doctoral formation. The ambition of the RTS program is to actively help architects, designers and artists develop research, which will be related to their own creative practice. RTS is a unique proposition in the context of the current design research postgraduate courses which exist internationally. It focuses on defining and developing knowledge which emerges from exploration of the space between art and science, practice and theory, the exploratory and the explanatory in the fields of design. The RTS tutors are an international group of experts in the fields of design research, cybernetics, knowledge processes and communication from all over the world (Belgium, the Netherlands, Turkey, UK, Germany, Australia, USA, Sweden and Norway).

For practical information on the doctoral program, please contact Anneleen Van der Veken, Faculty Administration PhD in Architecture.

Faculty of Architecture
Campus Sint-Lucas Brussels
Paleizenstraat 65-67, B-1030 Brussels
0032 2 242 00 00